Zanna Smith

Zanna Smith, grandmother of two of my fabulous students, Elly and Xanda Schofield, was the first to reply to my call for STEM grannies.  Here’s what she said:

I was encouraged by my grandfather, Heathcote Woolsey, to go in any direction I wanted. When I was 9 or 10 he took me with him to visit an artist-mathematician friend, Robert Nisbitt–we talked about multiple-dimension theory.

In high school I hated science and math. In college I learned why–I was “gifted” in those areas, and the teachers (and curriculum) were too narrow and slow for me. Although I began college with a major in music, I used my music scholarships to get a BS in math education, and taught math in high school, community college, and as a TA in graduate school.

Back in the 1970s I became involved in information systems consulting, then office information systems, etc. Lt. Cmdr Grace Hopper led the way!

Multidiscipline thinking has always been my choice. My degrees are: BS in Math, MST in Math Education, MM in music composition, and I am just about to finish my PhD in Psychology, with an emphasis in research. It’s all about pattern recognition.

Image

This entry was posted in Computer Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

