Judy Franz

Image

I am another “Grandma Got Stem.” I received my PhD in physics from the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign back in 1965.  When I arrived, the department had 300 graduate students, and I was the only female.  Things have improved for women in physics since then, but I would still like to encourage more young women to think about careers in physics. I enjoyed mine immensely.  After years of teaching and research as a professor of physics at Indiana University, West Virginia University, and the University of Alabama in Huntsville, I served as the executive officer of the American Physical Society for 15 years. Having recently retired, my husband and I are enjoying the freedom to travel and spend time with our granddaughter, Kathryn.

This entry was posted in Physics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

